American Boy Buy or Sample

American Boy

1: Feel The Power
2: From a Broken Heart
3: Living in a Lonesome Town
4: The Streets of Jericho
5: American Boy
6: Take Me to Chelsea
7: Havin' a Good Time Tonight
8: In a Small Town
9: Rock and Roll Party Queen
10: Goodbye Rosalie

Free MP3's! HERE




My concept for this record was to show the erosion of the working class America that I grew up in. I was fortunate enough to grow up when there was an American dream. There was a belief that hard work would be rewarded with prosperity, that you could get that house with the white picket fence and the car in the garage. Kids were allowed to be kids and there was innocence and hope in the air and in the music. I purposely juxtaposed songs written in the style of the radio rock I remember blasting out of my AM transistor radio that dangled from my Schwinn's handlebars ("From a Broken Heart") against straight forward socio-political songs ("The Streets of Jericho") to make this point. To be honest, I felt that the songs with the straight forward messages would stand out more if placed next to songs with a more pop sound (even if those pop songs had their own points to make). I also felt that with the times being what they are as of this release there needed to be some lighter pop/rock anthems to just make people feel better for a few minutes.

I was blessed to have some of my heroes join me on this record. Garth Hudson (The Band), Meshell Ndegeocello (Meshell Ndegeocello, John Mellencamp, David Bowie), and Joseph Wooten (Joseph Wooten, The Victor Wooten Band, The Steve Miller Band) added their talents to the disc and really raised the bar. It was an incredible honor to have worked with each and every one of them.


To read reviews of this CD click here

Copyright 2003 DuaneCarleton.Com All rights reserved  Site Designed by.Drquazar Ltd